♪ Alcohol ♪

That catchy Brad Paisley tune is stuck in my head right now as I contemplate writing this post.

I’m medicine and I am poison 
I can help you up or make you fall
You had some of the best times 
You’ll never remember with me
Alcohol
Alcohol

Alcohol has definitely been both a medication and a poison for me over the last year. Hell, it’s been both of those for me just tonight. I’m not proud of it, and I know it has to change. Because, seriously. Tequila doesn’t taste nearly as good in orange juice as vodka does, and if you’re suffering through the former just for a fix…

(Yes, that is me right now.)

Okay, okay. SERIOUSLY. Even though they do their duty for feeling better in the moment, these recreational drinks do nothing to help me on my journey to weight loss and better health in the long term. So…

As of today –January 15th– I am finishing out the month with no more alcohol. This is fueled by a conversation that I had with my therapist today…that, basically, if I can just make two or three healthy choices for the next few weeks, then that will be a good start to a healthier me AND to weight loss. So, my two changes are:

  1. No more alcohol in January 2014…and as far beyond that as possible…but at least through January.
  2. Each meal plate will be 50% vegetable and/or fruits.
  3. At least one 20 minute workout/day. Two workouts is preferable.

I can do this. I NEED to do this.

Leave a Reply

